About RiskLiteracy.org

Mission: Advance and promote Science for Informed Decision Making with inclusive outreach and user-friendly technology and education.

RiskLiteracy.org is a non-profit university-based international science for society virtual collaboration. Our website features the Berlin Numeracy Test offering personalized feedback about one's ability to understand and respond to risks compared to educated people from around the world. Initially developed and validated at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, the Berlin Numeracy Test is one of the world's most efficient predictors of skilled decision making and risk literacy. The Berlin Numeracy Test was created to help increase public awareness and to improve research conducted with diverse cultures and samples (e.g., computer literate adults; educated people from the US, Europe, and Asia; highly educated medical, legal, and financial professionals). Because some test formats are internet-based and available in multiple languages data can be collected and analyzed by nearly any internet-ready device (e.g., smart phones; computers), providing immediate and personalized feedback. RiskLiteracy.org can be used by individuals who want to learn more about their abilities and limitations or it can be used by researchers who want to learn about, connect with, and contribute to informed decision making science and outreach.  

Project Management and Development: 

Riskliteracy.org functions as a virtual collaborative research network and outreach initiative managed by a Board of Directors (i.e., Dr. Edward Cokely, Dr. Adam Feltz, and Dr. Rocio Garcia-Retamero) in consultation with a Scientific Advisory Board (e.g., Dr. Mirta Galesic, Dr. Gerd Gigerenzer, Dr. Ellen Peters, Dr. Hank Jenkins-Smith, Dr. Wandi Bruine de Bruin, Dr. K. Anders Ericssion, Dr. Rob Hamm), associate scientists, and community partners. The RiskLiteracy.org project was initiated at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in 2007 under the direction of Dr. Edward Cokely, Dr. Mirta Galesic, Dr. Adam Feltz, and Dr. Rocio Garcia-Retamero, with support from Dr. Gerd Gigerenzer and the Center for Adaptive Behavior and Cognition. Website management and daily technical operations are provided by members of the Decision Psychology Lab and the National Institute for Risk & Resilience on the Research Campus at the University of Oklahoma. For questions, connections, and a list of affiliated researchers please see our contact page.  If you have ideas about how you can contribute to the project we encourage you to contact us.  


Special Thanks:

We thank the members of the Center for Adaptive Behavior and Cognition and of the Harding Center for Risk Literacy at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development, particularly Dr. Gerd Gigerenzer and Dr. Lael Schooler for crucial initial and ongoing support.  We offer special thanks to Dr. Kelvin Droegemeier and to members of the National Institute for Risk and Resilience at OU for their vision and commitment to transformative science that empowers and changes lives. We offer special thanks to all our members, participants, and collaborators, and to the esteemed members of our scientific advisory board, for their continuing support, guidance, and critical-constructive feedback.  


Grants and Financial Support: 
We are grateful for generous support from: 

Many Thanks: 
We are indebted to the following researchers for cross-cultural and other data collection/analysis:
(alphabetical order)

Nicolai Bodemer, Max Planck Institute for Human Development
Siegfried Dewitte, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
Adam Feltz, Michigan Technological University
Robert Hamm, University of Oklahoma
William (Deak) Helton, University of Canterbury
Stefan Herzog, University of Basel
Marcus Lindskog, Uppsala University
Hitashi Lomash, Thepar University
Yasmina Okan, University of Granada
Robert Pastel, Michigan Technological University
Dafina Petrova, University of Granada
Jing Qian, Tsinghua University
Samantha Simon, Wayne State University
Helena Szrek, University of Porto
Masanori Takezawa, University of Tokyo
Karl Teigen, University of Oslo
Margo Woller-Carter, Michigan Technological University
Jan Woike, Universite de Lausanne
Tomek Wysocki, Wroclaw University